
                                       HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION NOTICE 
 
The following Homestead Exemptions are available through the Supervisor of 
Assessments Office. To apply for or to inquire about any of the following exemptions, 
contact the Supervisor of Assessments Office located at 309 W Market St., Rm. 128,  
Jonesboro, Illinois 62952  or by calling 618-833-8051. 
 1. Owner Occupied Exemption: To qualify you must own and occupy the property 
as your primary residence as of January 1 of the assessment year. 
 2. Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption: To qualify you must be 65 years of age 
during the assessment year, and you must own and occupy the property as your 
primary residence.  
 3. Senior Citizens Assessment Freeze Homestead Exemption: To qualify you 
must be 65 years of age during the assessment year, and you must own and occupy 
the property as your primary residence as of January 1 of the assessment year.  The 
maximum household income can not exceed $55,000. A yearly application is 
required. 
4. Homestead Improvement Exemption: To qualify the property must be owner 
occupied and used exclusively for residential purposes. The proposed increase in 
assessed value must be attributable solely to a new improvement of an existing 
structure or the rebuilding of a structure following a catastrophic event. This 
exemption is limited to 75,000 fair cash value. 
5. Returning Veterans’ Exemption: This exemption is applied the tax year that a 
Veteran returns from active duty in an armed conflict. A veteran is defined as an 
Illinois resident who has served as a member of any branch of the United States 
Armed Forces. This is a two year benefit. This exemption applies to any residential 
property that is owned and occupied as a principle dwelling by the veteran. 
6. Disabled Veterans’ Standard Homestead Exemption: This benefit applies to a 
property that is owned and occupied by a veteran with a service connected disability 
certified by the Department of Veteran’s Affairs. A deduction is granted for service 
connected disabilities of at least 30 percent. A property can not receive both this 
exemption and the Disabled Persons’ Homestead Exemption. 
7. Disabled Persons’ Homestead Exemption: This exemption provides an annual 
$2,000 reduction in the equalized assessed value of the property owned and 
occupied as the primary residence on January 1 of the assessment year by a person 
who meets disability requirements.   
8.  Natural Disaster Homestead Exemption:  Homestead property containing a 
residential structure that has been rebuilt following a natural disaster may be eligible. 
Note: Those qualifying for a Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption may also qualify 
for a Real Estate Tax Deferral Act. For further information or an application, contact 
the Union County Treasurer’s Office by calling 618-833-5621 




