
CONTRACT FOR TRANSPORTATION AND DETENTION SERVICES 

This agreement is voluntarily made and entered into by the Franklin 
County Juvenile Detention Center, hereinafter referred to as the "Center" and 
Union County, hereinafter referred to as the "Home County." 

I. 

Whereas the Home County is unable to provide detention services for 
alleged or adjudicated delinquents or juveniles certified for trial as adults 
pursuant to the Illinois Criminal Code, the Center agrees to provide, but is not 
limited to, the following transportation services: 

1. Upon notification and receipt of the Detention Screening Instrument, 
Detention Authorization Form, and Court Order or Police Report, the 
Center agrees to respond as soon as practical to the needs of the 
Home County but agrees to arrive at the Home County Sheriff's 
Department within a maximum period of six hours. IN KEEPING 
WITH FEDERAL MANDATES, WE WILL NOT BE TRANSPORTING 
JUVENILES HELD OVER 6 HOURS. All individuals will be 
transported to and from the Home County Sheriffs Department 
unless otherwise stipulated and agreed herein. 

2. Prior to our transportation unit transporting, it will be required that 
any juvenile that is under the influence of alcohol, drugs, ill or injured 
be examined by a licensed physician before being accepted for 
transportation. In addition, those who stated they have consumed 
alcohol or drugs within the last eight hours will not be transported 
without being examined by a licensed physician. That the Home 
County is required to make the initial detention decision based on the 
criteria established in the Illinois Juvenile Court Act. That any 
detention decision made by the Home County must be made by a 
Probation Officer assigned to the Home County. 

3. Transportation services between the Home County Sheriffs 
Department and the Franklin County Detention Center for any court 
hearings, medical needs, or other required treatment of the detainee 
in custody. 



4. Upon notification of termination of the detention, the detainee will be 
returned to the Home County unless otherwise notified. 

5. Transportation will be provided within the guidelines of the Illinois 
Department of Corrections. 

6. The Center agrees to provide adequate security during any needed 
transportation. 

a. A vehicle completely equipped for the safety and security of 
the juvenile and officers. This will include appropriate radio 
and/ or transmitting equipment and a completely fitted and 
secure protective cage. 

b. Appropriate hand and leg restraints to be utilized routinely to 
ensure safety and security for the juveniles and officers. 

7. No transportation charge to the Home County if the youth status is 
pre-adjucatory. 

Franklin County Juvenile Detention Center will transport Post­
Dispositional juveniles, but the home county will be billed. The fee will 
be $11.00 per hour for each Transportation Officer, plus the 
accepted state rate per mile. If a Post-Dispositional juvenile is 
transported with a Pre-Dispositional juvenile, to and from the same 
county there would be no fee. 

Franklin County Juvenile Detention Center personnel will transport 
committed juveniles to the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice at 
Warrenville and Harrisburg if the committing county so desires. The 
fee to transport a minor to Warrenville is the accepted state rate per 
mile plus officer costs. The fee to transport a minor to Harrisburg is 
a flat fee of $65. All transports will be leaving from the Franklin 
County Juvenile Detention Center and all will be transported at the 
discretion of the Superintendent of the Center, taking into 
consideration (1) weather conditions, (2) availability of insured vehicle, 
and (3) paperwork is in order. Prior to transport, the committing 
county will mail all necessary documents to their appropriate facility. 
Prior to transportation, Franklin County will verify that all paperwork 
is in order. 



This agreement does not prevent the committing county from 
transporting their own juveniles to the Department of Corrections. 

We reserve the right to refuse to transport any and all juveniles. 

8. The aforementioned services provided by Franklin County Juvenile 
Detention Center are contingent upon an insured vehicle being 
available to transport and/ or funds being made available to the 
Center for the transportation of juveniles by the Department of 
Human Services and/ or the Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission. If 
for any reason the insured vehicle is not available to transport and our 
grant funds to the Center from the Department of Human Services 
and/ or the Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission for the 
transportation of juveniles are terminated, cancelled, depleted, and/ 
or fail the guidelines established by the appropriate funding source 
and/ or that the proper paperwork has not been conveyed to the 
appropriate facility, the Franklin County Juvenile Detention Center 
will not be required to transport. 

II. 

The Center agrees to provide the following services: 

1. Twenty- four hour intake services. 

2. Emergency room care and emergency dental services as needed. 
The Home County will be responsible for the cost of the services 

provided. 

3. Medical screening by the registered nurse on staff at the Center. 
Over the counter medication shall be provided while prescription 
medication will be charged to the Home County. 

4. Psychological/ Psychiatric/Substance Abuse testing when ordered by 
the Court. Please allow four (4) weeks for testing to be completed. 
The psychological/Psychiatric/Substance Abuse testing will be billed 
to the Home County unless the county is eligible for Redeploy Illinois 
funding (Second Judicial Circuit only). 



5. Therapy by a mental health professional as needed by the detainee 
will be provided as determined by the H Group. 

6. An education program that meets the guidelines of the Illinois 
Department of Juvenile Justice, the Illinois Orphanage Act and the 
Illinois Department of Education. 

7. A daily program of physical exercise and activities both indoor and 
outdoor, weather permitting. 

8. Non- denominational religious services. 

9. Access to a juvenile by Probation Officers, court personnel, 
attorneys, Department of Human Services or other professional 
agencies on a need basis. 

10. A regular visiting policy. 

11. A standard schedule for phone contact with family. 

12. A mail policy that complies with DOC regulations and encourages 
contact with family. 

III. 

Minors that the Center agrees to accept under this agreement are: 

1. Minors allegedly delinquent as defined in 705ILCS 405/5 and pending 
detention, adjudication and dispositional hearings. 

2. Minors eligible to be sentenced to a county detention facility for up to 
thirty (30) days per charge. 

3. Minors eligible to be placed in a county detention facility as part of a 
probation order for treatment. 

4. Minors eligible to be held in a county detention facility pending 
prosecution as an adult. 



5. Minors eligible to be held in a county detention facility as part of a 
contempt of court order or warrant. 

6. Minors eligible for and ordered to (for up to 180 days) participate in 
and to complete a residential Methamphetamine Treatment Program 
(see below). 

Six beds are still available on a separate non-secure portion of our 
facility. These beds are used to house youth while court-ordered psychiatric, 
psychological, mental health, substance abuse, and/or sex offender assessments 
are completed. "Status Offenders" may also be housed in this portion of the 
facility. 

The Detention Center will not accept status offenders, including, but not 
limited to, runaways and curfew violators. 

A pre-existing eight bed wing at the Detention Center will house a 
residential methamphetamine treatment program. If eligible, youth may 
be ordered to a maximum of 180 days of residential treatment. An 
additional 180 days of community-based aftercare will also be provided 
upon completion of the residential component of the program. 

The Center will not refuse a detainee because of mental capacity, 
suicidal, tendency, medication requirements or drug or alcohol 
dependency unless the needs of the detainee cannot be met at the 
Center. The Home County agrees to notify the Center of these 
conditions during the initial contact for pick up. 

IV. 

The Center and the Home County agree to provide a contact person 
available on a 24 hour basis. The Center's contact person is identified as 
a detention supervisor and can be contracted at the Center at (618) 438-
2222. 

The Home County's contact person will be 

And can be contacted at 



Any initial detention decision prior to a detention hearing must be made by a 
Probation Officer assigned to the Home County. 

V. 

Sharing and dispersion of information will be in compliance with the 
Juvenile Court Act. 

VI. 

The Center reserves the right to refuse admission to a detainee if no 
bed is available. 

VII. 

All detainees will be held at a per diem rate of $100.00. Any portion of a 
24- hour day that a detainee is housed will result in a full day's charge. Any 
medication prescribed by a licensed physician for a juvenile while detained at 
the Center will be charged to the Home County. The Home County will be 
billed immediately after the juvenile is released or every 30 days of detainment 
unless other arrangements are made. 

VIII 

If any litigation arises from this contract or any of the services or payment 
obligations under this contract are not fulfilled the parties mutually agree that 
Franklin County, Illinois shall be the sole proper venue for any litigation and do 
hereby consent to being sued in Franklin County, Illinois. The Home County 
hereby expressly waives any right to claim venue in the courts of the Home 
County and any right to object to Franklin County as the proper venue in which 
suit against it may be brought. 

IX. 

The Home County herby agrees that in the event suit must be brought against 
it to collect sums owed under this contract or for services rendered by the 
Franklin County Juvenile Detention Center, that it shall be liable for any and all 



attorney's fees and costs incurred by Franklin County in bringing such action, if 
the Franklin County is successful in bringing such suit. 

X. 

This agreement begins on July 1, 2014 and terminates on June 30, 2015. 
This contract may be extended on mutual written agreement of the parties. 
This agreement may be terminated by either party by notification of such in 
writing and delivered by Certified Mail at least 30 days prior to the proposed 
termination date. 

XI. 

Independent Contract. Nothing in this agreement shall be considered to 
create the relationship of employer and employee or principal and agent 
between the parties hereto. In the performance of this agreement, the Center 
shall act as and shall be deemed at all times to be an independent contractor. 

XII. 

Severability. This agreement and all provisions hereof are intended to be 
whole and entire, and no provision or any part hereof is intended to be 
severable. This agreement contains all the terms and conditions agreed upon by 
the parties hereto, and no other agreements, oral or otherwise, regarding the 
subject matter of the agreement, shall be deemed to exist or bind any parties 
hereto. 



The undersigned parties cause this contract to be executed. 

,thorized Signature 
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Shawn Freeman, Superintendent 
Franklin County Juvenile Detention Center 
Second Judicial Circuit 


